top of page
  • jbancroft45

Creation of Sound – The New New

Looking back on my hard drive of all of the pieces I have created since understanding that sound could in fact be considered as a form of art is a surprisingly joyous event.  I have found this bittersweet situation in looking through old work to be something new in my life, especially as an artist.  I have rarely found some sense of accomplishment, proficiency, or pride when going through works years after completing them.  I would assume this is a commonality amongst most artists – understanding a general distrust in ourselves to create lasting, important works to begin with.

I know how most tracks were produced, what programs I used, and what the original recordings likely were, but what I was trying to do, how I thought of the sound as it evolved, and my own understanding of ‘sound art’ is much more difficult to grasp.  I find old pieces that I think are half-way decent and struggle to see that same quality, vision, or experimental touch in work that I create now.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page