top of page
  • jbancroft45

Pour Your Heart Out Iron Pour 2019

Updated: Feb 21, 2019

This year at the Alfred University foundry, the Pour Your Heart Out Iron Pour will be taking place from Noon until Dark on Feb. 14. Using both the iron pour and the romantic holiday as a catalyst, I will be creating a project to raise awareness for Heart Disease in the U.S.


Currently, Heart Disease is the leading cause of death in the U.S., killing an average of 610,000 people a year according to the CDC. With February also being American Heart Month, the timing for this project could not have been better.


Using plasticine, a soft clay-like material, I will be asking artists from the area to create a replica of a heart to the best of their ability. The heart will likely take on various shapes, forms and iterations depending on each artist's vision. Each heart will be placed with another in a sand and rosin mold, which will eventually be used to pour molten Iron into.


The use of iron when talking about the heart, ties us very deeply into this project through our own use and need for iron in our blood and in our hearts.


Check back for more to come! For details, and a chance to be a part of my heart awareness project, email me with the information on my contact page.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Creation of Sound – The New New

Paopian · SacralCat Looking back on my hard drive of all of the pieces I have created since understanding that sound could in fact be considered as a form of art is a surprisingly joyous event.  I hav

bottom of page